Randi Weingarten and Nancy Carlsson-Paige to Be Recognized for Lifetime Achievement at 2013 Bammy Awards

Los Angeles, CA. (PRWEB) May 07, 2013

Today, the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences, comprised of 212 of the nations most prominent education leaders, announced that Randi Weingarten, president of the American Federation of Teachers, and professor emerita Nancy Carlsson-Paige have been selected to be honored for their lifetime achievements in education at the 2013 Bammy Awards. The cross-discipline Bammy Awards will be presented on September 21st at the black-tie, red-carpet event in Washington, D.C. Weingarten and Carlsson-Paige will join Linda Darling-Hammond , Diane Ravitch and John Merrow as individuals honored for their distinguished lifelong commitment and accomplishments in the field of education.

The Bammy Awards were created in response to the relentless national criticism of America’s public schools. The negative perception of public education has led to a decrease in public confidence, calls for reductions in financial support and intense scrutiny of educators, while all that is right in American education is largely ignored.

Based on the notion that it takes a village to educate a child, the Academy identifies, recognizes and celebrates the contributions of education professionals, para-professionals and support staff across the entire field — from teachers, principals and superintendents to school nurses, advocates, researchers, early childhood specialists, education journalists, facilities maintenance staff, special needs professionals, school board members, parents and more. The Bammy Awards acknowledge that teachers can’t educate children alone and don’t do it alone. The awards aim to foster cross-discipline recognition for the vital role played by every member of the education village, encourage collaboration and respect across the various domains, elevate education and education successes in the public eye, and raise the profile and voices of the many undervalued and unrecognized people who are making a difference in the field every day.

This matters because its an organization that realizes that it takes a village. Education is a cooperative effort among a whole group of forces; it doesnt happen unless everybody works together and so its really an honor to be singled out by a group like this, commented John Merrow, PBS education correspondent and 2012 lifetime achievement honoree.

Modeled on the broad scope of the Oscars, Grammys and Emmys, the Bammy Awards are presented by the Academys Council of Peers and Board of Governors. The Academy accepts nominations in dozens of disparate categories, selects honorees, and brings together constituents from the entire education community to recognize the honorees.

About the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences

The Academy is comprised of over 212 prominent education leaders. Charter members of the Academy include a profoundly eclectic cadre of persons involved in education, including Dr. Linda Darling-Hammond, professor of education at Stanford University; Diane Ravitch, former Assistant Secretary of Education; , Dr. Timothy Shriver, CEO of the Special Olympics; Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski III, president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County; Dr. Mark Ginsberg, former head of the National Association for the Education of Young Children and currently dean of the College of Education and Human Development at George Mason University; Jay Mathews, veteran education columnist at the Washington Post; Dan Domenech, executive director of the American Association of School Administrators, Gail Connnely, executive director of the National Association of Elementary School Principals, JoAnne Bartoleti, executive director of the National Association of Secondary School Principals,; Donna Mazyck, executive director of the National Association of School Nurses; and Rosemarie T. Truglio, Ph.D., vice-president of research and education for Sesame Workshop.

This years event is made possible by support from Gojo/Purell, School Health, Responsive Classroom, PBS Learning Media, TCPN, Excelligence Learning Corporation, Gryphon House, Kaplan Early Learning, GameDesk, Redleaf Press, Choose2Matter, WriteSteps, Learning ZoneXpress, ChildCare Education Institute, New Tech Network, ECE PolicyWorks, Teachers College Press and Gesell Institute of Child Development.

Nominations for 2013 close on May 15th. To submit nominations or to learn more about the Bammy Awards, go to http://www.bammyawards.org. Send emails to info(at)bammyawards(dot)org, or call 818-539-5971.


Bammy Awards

Jeannette Bernstein



More Tech Press Releases

Leave a Reply