Technology News All about technology


2011 TechFellow Awards To Honor Visionary Technology Leaders And Stoke Investment In Emerging Startups

San Francisco, CA (PRWEB) February 08, 2012

The TechFellow Awards (, a startup investment program that honors technology innovators for achievement and excellence in high-tech entrepreneurship, today announced details of the third annual award program and ceremony.

Led by hosts Founders Fund, TechCrunch and New Enterprise Associates (NEA), a selection committee comprised of highly distinguished technology industry luminaries will recognize twenty individuals for their leadership and critical role in developing breakthrough products and services in four categories: General Management, Disruptive Innovation, Product Design & Marketing and Engineering Leadership.

In honor of their selection, each TechFellow Award recipient will receive $ 100,000 to invest in a technology company of their choice.

This years TechFellow Award winners will be announced at an invitation-only event hosted by Emmy and Golden Globe winning actor Jim Parsons, best known from the hit television show The Big Bang Theory, and featuring a special appearance by San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee on February 22 at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA).

The TechFellow Awards recognize the technology communitys brightest stars and welcome them into a peer group that will expand their potential and reach, said Sean Parker, Executive General Partner at Founders Fund. Were shining a spotlight on individuals who are on the cusp of bringing us something revolutionary, while giving them the opportunity to identify and invest in the most exciting startups in the industry.

The 2011 TechFellows will join an elite group of best-of-breed honorees, and along with the first two years recipients, will become a technology community think tank offering expertise and high level vision through upcoming quarterly dinners and special livestream web events and unique Q&A sessions. Chosen by the most prestigious selection committees to evangelize the growing role of technology in shaping the world at large, each TechFellow brings invaluable knowledge and insight to the table.

The goal of the TechFellow Awards is to identify and recognize the people in our field who are likely to have huge impact in the near future," said Michael Polansky, Managing Director, TechFellow Awards. "Being a TechFellow is more than just being honored for past success. It's about joining a group of incredibly talented people who are well positioned to shape what is to come. This year's honorees have captured the essence of true ingenuity and innovationand we are proud to recognize them for their groundbreaking work.

Past TechFellow winners have gone on to found Quora and Flipboard, while, Mixel, Captricity, HipChat and Woven Systems have all been beneficiaries of TechFellow Award investments. 2010 TechFellow winners included Jack Dorsey, Co-Founder, Twitter; Maria Thomas, former CEO of Etsy and Paul Graham, Co-Founder and Partner at Y Combinator, while the 2009 class featured Michael Birch, Co-Founder, Bebo and Adam DAngelo, Co-Founder of Quora and former CTO of Facebook.

Its an honor to join this esteemed selection committee and help pick this years winners, said Ron Conway, Managing Partner of SV Angel and a TechFellow Award Selection Committee Member. The caliber of TechFellows this yearvisionaries with an extraordinary collective intelligence and energywill be sure to attract investors looking to contribute to the launch of the most promising new companies.

The 2011 TechFellow Awards selection committee includes:

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.