Technology News All about technology


IEEE Computer Society Names Technical Achievement Winners

IEEE Computer Society Names Technical Achievement Winners

Los Alamitos, California (Vocus/PRWEB) March 08, 2011

Five technologists who have made outstanding and innovative contributions to the fields of computer and information science and engineering or computer technology will be recipients of 2011 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Awards.

The recipients are:

Frederica Darema, Air Force Office of Scientific Research
Ronald Fagin, IBM Almaden Research Center
Jose Garcia-Luna-Aceves, University of California, Santa Cruz/Palo Alto Research Center
Johannes Gehrke, Cornell University
Liang-Jie Zhang, Kingdee International Software Group

Darema is director of mathematics, information, and life sciences at the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. She is a graduate of the University of Athens, the Illinois Institute of Technology, and the University of California at Davis, where she attended as a Fulbright Scholar and a Distinguished Scholar.

After physics research associate positions at the University of Pittsburgh and Brookhaven National Laboratory, she became a technical staff member in the Nuclear Sciences Department at Schlumberger-Doll Research. She joined the T.J. Watson IBM Research Center as a research staff member and group manager and also served in the IBM Corporate Strategy Group.

From 1996 to 1998, she completed a two-year interagency assignment at the US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency. Prior to her current assignment, Darema was senior science and technology adviser and senior science analyst at the US National Science Foundation.

Fagin is manager of the Foundations of Computer Science group at the IBM Almaden Research Center, and is a member of the IBM Academy of Technology. He received his B.A. in mathematics from Dartmouth College, and his Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of California at Berkeley. He is a Fellow of AAAS, ACM, and IEEE.

Garcia-Luna-Aceves received a BS in electrical engineering from the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City in 1977, and an MS and PhD in electrical engineering from the University of Hawaii at Manoa in 1980 and 1983, respectively. He holds the Jack Baskin Endowed Chair of Computer Engineering at the University of California, Santa Cruz, is chair of the Computer Engineering Department, and is a principal scientist at the Palo Alto Research Center. Prior to joining UCSC, he was a center director at SRI International. He has been a visiting professor at Sun Laboratories and a principal of protocol design at Nokia. His research focuses on computer communication.

Garcia-Luna-Aceves is a Fellow of IEEE, AAAS, and ACM. He holds 35 US patents, has published three books, and more than 400 journal and conference papers, and has supervised more than 30 PhD dissertations.

Gehrke is a computer science professor at Cornell University. His research interests are in the areas of database systems, data mining, and data privacy. Gehrke has received a National Science Foundation Career Award, an Arthur P. Sloan Fellowship, an IBM Faculty Award, the Cornell College of Engineering James and Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award, the Cornell University Provost's Award for Distinguished Scholarship, a Faculty Development Award from the New York State Foundation for Science, Technology, and Innovation, and a Humboldt Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

With Raghu Ramakrishnan, he co-authored the undergraduate textbook “Database Management Systems” (McGraw-Hill, 2002), used at universities all over the world. Gehrke is also an adjunct faculty member at the University of Tromsø in Norway, and he is a visiting researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Software Systems. From 2007 to 2008, he was chief scientist at FAST, a Microsoft subsidiary.

Zhang is a senior vice president, chief scientist, and director of research at Kingdee International Software Group. Prior to this position, he was a research staff member and program manager of application architectures and realization at IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, where he led the R&D of the custom solution engagement cloud. He was also the worldwide leader of IBM's SOMA Modeling Environment.

Zhang, editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Services Computing, received an Outstanding Achievement Award from the World Academy of Sciences, and an Innovation Leadership Award from Chinese Institute of Electronics. He holds 40 patents and more than 20 pending patent applications. Zhang received his PhD in Pattern Recognition and Intelligent Control from Tsinghua University. He is an IEEE Fellow and an ACM Distinguished Scientist.

To be nominated for a Technical Achievement Award, the contributions must have been made in the past 10-15 years, and have significantly promoted technical progress in the field. The award consists of a certificate and $ 2,000 honorarium. The next nomination deadline is 15 October, 2011. For more information, visit

The five awards will be presented at an awards dinner on Wednesday, 25 May in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

About the IEEE Computer Society

With nearly 85,000 members, the IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading organization of computing professionals. Founded in 1946, and the largest of IEEE’s 38 societies, the Computer Society is dedicated to advancing the theory and application of computing and information technology. The Computer Society serves the information and career-development needs of today’s computing researchers and professionals with books, conferences, conference publications, magazines, online courses, software development certifications, standards, and technical journals. With about 40 percent of its members living and working outside the United States, the Computer Society fosters international communication, cooperation, and information exchange. Based in Washington, DC, the Computer Society operates offices in Tokyo and Los Alamitos, Calif. For more information, visit



Vocus©Copyright 1997-

, Vocus PRW Holdings, LLC.
Vocus, PRWeb, and Publicity Wire are trademarks or registered trademarks of Vocus, Inc. or Vocus PRW Holdings, LLC.

Find More Computer Press Releases

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

No trackbacks yet.